About the ASEAN Defence Ministers

Monday, 06 February 2017 12:00
Print Email



The ADMM-Plus is a platform for ASEAN and its eight Dialogue Partners Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russia and the United States (collectively referred to as the "Plus Countries"), to strengthen security and defence cooperation for peace, stability, and development in the region. The Inaugural ADMM-Plus was convened in Ha Noi, Viet Nam, on 12 October 2010.

Since 2017, the ADMM-Plus meets annually, to allow enhanced dialogue and cooperation among ASEAN and the Plus Countries in the midst of an increasingly challenging regional security environment.


The objectives of the ADMM-Plus, are:

  • To benefit ASEAN Member States in building capacity to address shared security challenges, while cognisant of the differing capacities of various ASEAN Member States;
  • To promote mutual trust and confidence between defence establishments through greater dialogue and transparency;
  • To enhance regional peace and stability through cooperation in defence and security, in view of the transnational security challenges the region faces;
  • To contribute to the realisation of an ASEAN Security Community which, as stipulated in the Bali Concord II, embodies ASEAN's aspiration to achieve peace, stability, democracy and prosperity in the region where ASEAN Member States live at peace with one another and with the world at large;
  • To facilitate the implementation of the Vientiane Action Programme, which calls for ASEAN to build a peaceful, secure and prosperous ASEAN, and to adopt greater outward-looking external relation strategies with our friends and Dialogue Partners.


The ADMM-Plus has become an effective platform for practical cooperation among the participating countries' defence establishments. The ADMM-Plus currently focuses on seven areas of practical cooperation, namely maritime security (MS), counter-terrorism (CT), humanitarian assistance and disaster management (HADR), peacekeeping operations (PKO), military medicine (MM), humanitarian mine action (HMA) and cyber security (CS).  Experts Working Groups (EWGs) have been established to facilitate cooperation in these areas. The EWGs are each co-chaired by one ASEAN Member States and one Plus Country, following a three-year cycle.


In the 2011-2013 cycle, there were five EWGs, namely on MS, CT, HADR, PKO, and MM. During this cycle three Field Training Exercises (FTXs) were conducted namely: (i) ADMM-Plus MS FTX; (ii) ADMM-Plus HADR/MM Exercise and (iii) ADMM-Plus CT Exercise.


In the 2014-2017 cycle, the areas of cooperation were expanded, to include the EWG on Humanitarian Mine Action. This cycle saw the conduct of three joint FTXs, namely: (i) ADMM-Plus MS/CT Exercise; (ii) ADMM-Plus MM/HADR Exercise (AMHex); and (iii) ADMM-Plus HMA/PKO FTX (Exercise Force 18). The Standard Operating Procedures on Multinational Coordination Centre, adopted by the 11th ADMM in 2017 was developed during this cycle.


In the 2017-2020 cycle, the areas of cooperation were further expanded, with another EWG established in the area of cyber security. This cycle saw the conduct of five FTXs namely: ADMM-Plus MS FTX; (ii) ADMM-Plus MM FTX (Medex 2019); (iii) ADMM-Plus CT FTX; (iv) ADMM-Plus PKO FTX; and (v) ADMM-Plus HMA FTX. In addition, the EWG on HADR staged a staff exercise/communications exercise, while the EWG on CS organised a table-top exercise. Other major deliverables of the cycle are the launching of the Handbook on Military Medicine and the establishment of the ADMM-Plus EWG on CS portal.  



The Concept Paper on ADMM-Plus: Principles for Membership, adopted at the 3rd ADMM, Pattaya, 25-27 February 2009 stipulated the principles for membership to the ADMM-Plus process, as follows:

  • The Plus country shall be a full-fledged Dialogue Partner of ASEAN;
  • The Plus country shall have significant interactions and relations with ASEAN defence establishment; and
  • The Plus country shall be able to work with the ADMM to build capacity so as to enhance regional security in a substantive way in order to promote capacity-building in the region in the fields of defence and security.


ADMM-Plus Chair

The Chairmanship of the ADMM-Plus follows the Chairmanship of the ADMM.

The current Chairman of the ADMM-Plus and the ADSOM-Plus are as follows:


Chairman of ADMM-Plus:          
H.E. Samdech Pichey Sena TEA Banh

Deputy Prime Minister and

Minister of National Defence



Chairman of ADSOM-Plus: 

General NEM Sowath

Special Advisor to Samdech Pichey Sena TEA Banh

Director-General, General Department of Policy and Foreign Affairs

Ministry of National Defence



ADMM contact point: 

Lieutenant General LAY Chenda

Deputy Director-General, General Department of Policy and Foreign Affairs and

Director, Department of ASEAN Affairs

Ministry of National Defence


Close Panel

Panel 1

Nunc sit amet urna non augue sodales semper non et velit.